The Real Housewife of Cook County

Icon

* A daily review of all things fabulous according to Chicago's hottest housewife*

R.I.P.

PD*28014944

I’m finally able to log onto the computer and this is what I’m greeted with?  2 legends have died? Farrah Fawcett AND Michael Jackson.  I was hit with nostalgia about the sweepstakes and old Johnny Carson episodes when Ed McMahon died but I was mentally prepared to accept his death.  Farrah Fawcett was one of my favorite glamour girls, just thinking of her makes me want to put the biggest, prettiest feathered layers in my hair and strike my best Charlie’s Angels pose.  When cancer began to ravage her body, I really just wanted the pain to be over for her but was surprised to hear that she succumbed to the pain and passed away surrounded by friends and family.  I thought that would be the end of my grief for today but I was wrong.  The legendary King of Pop has died! Michael Jackson, one of my first loves.  When I was a child, I slept with an MJ poster.  I made my father search far and wide for the Moonwalker VHS and I watched it every single day.  I’m hurt, sad and still in disbelief.  But you’re supposed to learn something from every situation and these series of events have really made me think. 

I just watched the movie “Notorious” yesterday and while watching a 24 year old Biggie get killed right after Tupac’s death, I began thinking about the legacy that these men left behind.  Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett, Michael Jackson, Christopher “B.I.G.” Wallace and Tupac Shakur, all led awesome lives.  They left a legacy for all us and paved paths that all of us can follow.  Whether you believe in God or not, you probably believe that we are put on Earth to serve a purpose.  When we have fulfilled our destinies, we can go on to the next level of our journey.  And in all of these cases, I try to comfort myself with the fact that at the time of their deaths these people had reached heights that many people will never reach.  The thing is, some people aren’t supposed to reach these exact heights, there are different kinds of achievements.  Each of our journeys is ours alone and is only meant for us.  So, find your life’s purpose and dedicate yourself to fulfilling it.  Let’s not mourn the deaths of our beloved idols but let’s celebrate their lives and accomplishments.  However you mourn is fine, shed some tears, pour out a little liquor but after mourning relish in their legacy.  Throw on your favorite Michael cut and do what he told you to do; Dance, Dance, Dance and take a look at the (wo)man in the mirror and make a change.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Pages

