The Real Housewife of Cook County

Icon

* A daily review of all things fabulous according to Chicago's hottest housewife*

Having Her Say

 aunt viv

The original Aunt Viv, Janet Hubert,  from  “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air,” the show that introduced many of us to Will Smith, is releasing a tell-all book.  Her memoir is titled “Perfection is Not a Sitcom Mom” and she plans to expose Will Smith as an egotistical attention-whore.  Here’s an excerpt from the book:

“Smith had people around him who made sure no one outshone him. I was happy to see Don Cheadle become the quality actor that he is, and often wondered how he made it past one episode, as Hilary’s boyfriend, being such a fierce actor. No one could be on ‘The Tonight Show,’ that first season, except Will. And I mean no one.”

She also writes about Countess Vaughn being cut from an appearance on the show:

“I recall the lovely and incredibly talented Countess Vaughn coming to guest star. Oh my God! The day of table read, she was pee-in-your-pants funny. The writers were howling, we were howling, so I knew she was history – banished into the cornfield. Many years later, after she had her own show, I had to tell her when she asked me why. ‘Miss Janet why did I get cut from the episode,’ she asked? Simply, my darling, you were too good,” she recollected.

Here she speaks about being finding out that she’s fired:

My mind was going in a million places. OK, I thought, they will come back; this is how they do it. They always come back. I started into the kitchen where Rayna – my friend, housekeeper and nanny was. She was doing dishes as baby E was enjoying a swing. I knelt down, kissed his head, and waited for the next round of negotiations. They never came.

The next time Michael [her agent] called he said, ‘They are going to recast your role.’ There was a beautiful stained glass window that I designed in the bedroom, and the windows were open, so my neighbors probably heard me scream. And that beautiful window probably has many cracks in it. Time of Death: approximately 3 pm. The real Vivian Banks was murdered.

 

Dramatic, isn’t she??  She’s been talking about this for years. I guess she never got past that huge paycut.  With the recession in full effect, she’s still trying to cash in.  I do believe what she has to say is true, but at this point Will Smith is one of the highest paid actors in the world so I really don’t think anybody gives a damn.  Why come out with this now? Maybe she had a gag order that’s finally been lifted?

Read the whole story here.

 

 

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Tea says:

    I’d buy it actually. If for nothing else, to get an inside glimpse of the goodness that is Will Smith. I’m sure that’s not her intention, but I love that man!

  2. kunta says:

    im happy. ive been waiting for this. you always knew it was some mess on that show. esp when she was as good as she was and they tried to claim her attitude was the reason she got fired. i’ve heard plenty of stories where costars are running around as the devil so i knew it had to be more behind that story. yes oh yes im gonna read the book!!! youre got damned right im gonna read it!! and im waiting for those destiny child girls to come out with a tell all on beyonce!!!

Leave a Reply

Pages

